Home » Link » Words

Words

So, I have a bit of an infatuation with spoken word/slam poetry. It’s a pretty intense form of expression sometimes, but that can make it very effective at getting a message across. Below is a video of a poem called, “Pretty” by Katie Makkai that talks about the way that women and girls define themselves with just the word pretty, or how they are not. Warning: There is some strong language used here, which is frequently the case with spoken word. If that’s not your thing, feel free not to press play. If not, let’s hear what Katie Makkai has to say.

Be more than just “pretty,” because you are.

4 thoughts on “Words

  1. I am shocked at my tears as I listen, for the lies I believed and the truth I can bestow as a gift to my two-year old daughter.

    • Poetry can be shocking. It’s a powerful piece, I think, in great part because it does show you a difference that a mother can make. I think there’s a huge awareness for mothers about the mistakes they can make, but fewer times when they’re told the ways that they can do positive things for their daughters. Like teach them that they are more than “just pretty.” Through words, actions, and by example.

    • I really don’t know where you might find it. You probably just have to listen to it and transcribe it, unfortunately. Good luck at State Finals though! That’s so exciting.

Leave a Reply

