Home » Link » Hey, Mom, you’re looking good

Hey, Mom, you’re looking good

A topic I think I under-addressed in my book is the importance of mothers to set a good example for her daughter for body image.

I just came across a website for a book that encourages mothers to work around their own body image issues to help their daughters develop a body-positive attitude. The book “You’d Be So Pretty If… Teaching Our Daughters to Love Their Bodies — Even When We Don’t Love Our Own” by Dara Chadwick is definitely needed. I haven’t read the book myself, so I can’t say that I love it, but I love what I’ve heard and so I’d definitely be interested in checking it out. I may not be a mother, but I think all women have an obligation to those younger than them to teach them how to be women; the same goes for men and boys.

It’s really hard for women to send a good message to the younger generation when they’re stuck poking their own thighs with a pained look on their face, though. Unfortunately, that negative message of hating your body – and specifically the body that a mother has passed on directly to her child – is sent easily and usually accidentily. It’s super important to be aware of it and to make an effort to be the role model that girls need. Even when you’re trying to work through your own issues. Moms have a tough gig, I know, but that’s what makes them awesome.

Leave a Reply

